Indigenous Women in Leadership (IWIL) Award

About the Award

The Canadian Council for Aboriginal Business (CCAB) is proud to present the Indigenous Women in Leadership Award for 2018.

The role of Indigenous women in traditional life has long been one of leadership and strength. The tenacity and determination of our Indigenous women stands as a powerful testament to their role in preserving our traditions and culture. Through changing economic and political landscapes since the arrival of the new peoples on the shores of Turtle Island their leadership has proudly lead the way.

In keeping with the changing times, CCAB wishes to send a strong message of national support for our Indigenous women and the leadership they have championed through the exciting new Indigenous Women in Leadership (IWIL) award.

CCAB wishes to celebrate successful, accomplished, committed Indigenous women with an award that serves as not only a national recognition but as a platform to the future.  A future where Indigenous women take their rightful place at the table among men and women of all cultures in true celebration of lives well lived from tradition to academia, family to prosperity they continue to lead the way.

CCAB encourages nominations from all First Nations (Status and Non-Status), Inuit and Métis business, political and nationally engaged women whose work has changed the lives of people in their communities and nationally.

Anyone 18 years of age and older is eligible to submit a nomination.

Nomination deadline: 5:00 pm EST Friday December 1st, 2017

What makes an Indigenous woman in leadership laureate?

Nominees should have a history of excellence in the conduct of their business, careers, politics and community leadership reflecting their skills, vision, determination and perseverance.  Laureates of Indigenous Women in Leadership (IWIL) are distinguished people who are well advanced in their successful careers and change-making lives.

Nominees should be known for their contributions to the development of their community.  Setting an example for others to follow can be as important as holding a formal leadership position.  Nominees should enjoy broad community support because of the impact of their business or life activities.  Nominees should be catalysts for change in their community.

Nominees should have contributed to the expansion of knowledge and capacity.  Embracing new technologies while remaining committed to traditional ways is an important part of sustainable development.  Nominees should have the vision to challenge accepted wisdom and move beyond it, and the commitment to give their employees or community meaningful access to training or education opportunities respecting and including traditional knowledge and culture.

Nominees should have contributed in a substantive way to the community and/or national well-being. Their results should be identifiable and measurable, and could include economic development, employment opportunities, sustained business growth, starting and maintaining new ventures, and creating options for the future.  As well as accomplishments in sectors that can include the arts, sports, politics, health, education etc.

Nominate Here

Most Recent Winner


Minister Jody Wilson-Raybould - Headshot - Twitter - Red Jacket cropped

Photo Credit: Erich Saide Photography

The Honourable Jody Wilson-Raybould

The Honourable Jody Wilson-Raybould is the Minister of Justice and Attorney General of Canada, MP for Vancouver Granville, a lawyer, advocate, and former Regional Chief of the BC Assembly of First Nations.

Called to the BC Bar in 2000, Jody Wilson-Raybould began her legal career as a provincial crown prosecutor in Vancouver and later served as an advisor at the BC Treaty Commission. In 2004, she was elected as Commissioner by the Chiefs of the First Nations Summit. Minister Wilson-Raybould was elected Regional Chief of the BC Assembly of First Nations in 2009 and re-elected in 2012.

After being elected as the Member of Parliament for Vancouver Granville in 2015, Minister Wilson-Raybould was appointed Minister of Justice and Attorney General on November 4, 2015.

Minister Wilson-Raybould is a descendant of the Musgamagw Tsawataineuk and Laich-Kwil-Tach peoples, who are part of the Kwakwaka’wakw and also known as the Kwak’wala speaking peoples. She is a member of the We Wai Kai Nation and is married to Dr. Tim Raybould.