3rd Annual Aboriginal Economic Development Conference – Highlights

The 3rd Annual Aboriginal Economic Development Conference (AEDC) was held at the Calgary Telus Convention Centre and highlighted innovation in the Indigenous economy. Aboriginal economic development corporations (AEDCs) work in a competitive environment, with constantly moving targets and changing expectations. To stay relevant in this environment, companies are continually innovating to gain market share, develop and apply new technologies and improve operations and processes. These innovations take place every day across the country, in big and small ways. From the construction of sophisticated energy and internet infrastructure to new ways of engaging cultural tradition in business operations, Aboriginal AEDCs are innovating to deliver a better future to their communities and Canada.

Thank you to everyone who joined us at this year’s Aboriginal Economic Development Conference – hope to see you next year on May 10, 2018!

A line up of the speakers can be found below.

  • Stewart Anderson, Community Investment Manager, Vancity
  • Phillip “Jerry” Asp, President, Gray Wolf Solutions Ltd. & Chairperson, Global Indigenous Development Trust
  • Jim Balsillie, Chair, Council of Canadian Innovators & Former Chair and co-CEO, RIM
  • Calvin Brooks, Principal, Brook McIlroy
  • Cheryl Cardinal, President & CEO, Indigenous Centre of Energy
  • The Honourable James Gordon Carr, Minister of Natural Resources
  • Xakiji (Chief) Lee Crowchild, Tsuut’ina Nation
  • Clint Davis, Chair, Board of Directors, Nunatsiavut Group of Companies
  • Melanie Debassige, MBA, ICD.D, Chief of Staff, British Columbia Assembly of First Nations
  • Alicia Dubois, Market Vice President, Indigenous Markets, Commercial Banking, CIBC
  • Stephen Fay, Head, Aboriginal Banking, Northa American Industry Sectors, Business Banking, BMO
  • Phil Fontaine, President, Ishkonigan Inc.
  • Peter J. Forrester, Senior Director, Aboriginal, Legal & Project Affairs, Kinder Morgan Canada
  • Trevor Gladue, Director, Indigenous Strategic Initiatives, CIVEO
  • Carol Anne Hilton, CEO, Transformation International
  • C.T. (Manny) Jules, Chief Commissioner, First Nations Tax Commission
  • Mark Little, President, Upstream, Suncor Energy
  • Mary-Jane (MJ) Loustel, National Aboriginal Program Executive, IBM Canada
  • Sarah Midanik, Executive Director, Native Women’s Resource Centre, Toronto
  • Andre Morriseau, Director, Awards and Stakeholder Relations, Canadian Council for Aboriginal Business
  • Derek Nighbor, CEO, FPAC
  • Liz Qualluq Cravalho, Vice President, External and Government Affairs, NANA Regional Corporation
  • Barrie Robb, Chief Executive Officer, Business Development, Fort McKay First Nation
  • Max Skudra, Director, Research & Government Relations, Canadian Council for Aboriginal Business
  • Mark Taylor, Shipbuilding Strategy Manager, Joint Economic Development Initiative (JEDI)
  • Kevin Thomas, Director of Shareholder Engagement, Shareholder Association for Research & Education (SHARE)
  • Sean Willy, Vice President, Des Nedhe Developments & Creative Fire

Photography by Blaire Russell, Blaire Russell Photography

Thank you to our sponsors

Lead Sponsor

Afternoon Lead Sponsor

Lunch Lead Sponsor

Official Radio Sponsor


Coat Check Sponsor